Founded in 1895 in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park, the de Young Museum has been an integral part of the cultural fabric of the city and a cherished destination for both locals and visitors alike. Just as San Francisco has evolved through the years, the de Young has undergone its own dramatic evolution. In October 2005, the de Young was re-opened in a new facility integrating architecture and the natural landscape, and featuring global art from early American painting to powerful African sculpture.

The Legion of Honor, San Francisco’s most beautiful museum, was erected in 1924 and modeled after the Palais de la Légion d’Honneur in Paris. Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the Golden Gate Bridge, Marin Headlands and all of San Francisco, the Legion is most noted for its breathtaking setting and French neoclassical architecture. In addition to dramatic views and architecture, the Legion of Honor houses 4,000 years of ancient and European art.


  • Ceremony on site
  • Garden, patio or outdoor area
  • Valet parking
  • Outside catering allowed by venue
  • Water views (Legion only)
  • Handicap accessible


de Young settings
Wilsey Court: 350 seated
de Young Cafe: 160 seated
de Young Cafe Terrace: 550 seated
Murals Room: 150 seated
Legion settings
Court of Honor: 550 seated
Legion Cafe & Terrace: 300 seated

Facility Rental Fee